Tags

, , , ,

Beauty queen Joeymae Sedillo Gayo couldn’t help giving me a tight hug and shedding a tear or two when I told her that, honestly, I’d been very excited getting dressed to the nines at the Miss Cebu 2014 Coronation Night, but I decided to just come in slacks and polo shirt after receiving her message asking me to do her makeup. She was touched beyond words.

The currently Cavite-based mother of two, Miss Cebu Tourism 2001 fourth runner-up and Miss Lustrous Hair 2001 winner flew in to grace the pageant’s pearl anniversary on January 15, 2014, where previous winners as well as runners-up were presented onstage to relive their moments of grace and glory. What used to be called Miss Cebu Tourism for almost two decades is now Miss Cebu, since 2002.

I said, “It’s hard to say no to a multititled yet down-to-earth beauty queen like you. Any makeup artist would be greatly honored to do you the favor. We’ve missed you, girl.”

So instead of wasting a good three hours giving myself a no-nonsense makeover to look like a beauty queen, I’d rather maximize my time and passion and my heart and soul on behalf of a good friend who needs it for the right reason and with the right purpose.”

 

Image

Makeup: Ariel Allera
Hair & Gown: Malayka Yamas
(Thanks to my ever supportive niece Jenny Ann Pimentel for lending me her digital camera when I forgot to bring mine.)

