Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What with the more than enough strong contenders fielded in the official list of 2014 Binibining Pilipinas candidates, anything could happen at the pageant tonight, from nine o’clock onwards on ABS-CBN, which I will have the stellar chance and honor to witness at the Smart Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City.

As I shortlist the 40 exceptionally beautiful and equally world-class Filipinas to my top favorites, I can barely hide my faith and confidence in such loudly trumpeted contestants as Yvethe Santiago, Mary Jean Lastimosa, Parul Shah, Bianca Guidotti, Laura Lehmann, Pia Wurtzbach, and of course, Kris Tiffany Janson: to stand out from the rest who are painfully just as stunning and worthy to represent our country abroad.

Admittedly and apparently, the Miss Universe Philippines 2014 crown is the cream of the crop, and as far as I’m concerned, that’s what I’m hoping to the stars for my friend Kris Tiffany Janson to bag and bring home to Cebu.

But who would I be to complain if she ended up wearing a less sparkling, albeit said to be equally important, crown like Bb. Pilipinas International 2014, Bb. Pilipinas Tourism 2014, Bb. Pilipinas Supranational 2014, Bb. Pilipinas Intercontinental 2014?

Having said it over and over again—that this batch will surely give tonight’s judges, including Miss Universe 2013 Gabriela Isler, a difficult task, a hard time choosing the winners—I’d like to believe that Yvethe Santiago, Mary Jean Lastimosa, Parul Shah, Bianca Guidotti, Laura Lehmann, and Pia Wurtzbach are just as perfect Miss Universe Philippines 2014 material.

I love Yvethe’s bone structure and doll-like mien, while I’m jealous of Mary Jean’s delicious white teeth, determination, and humility. This is MJ’s third time to join the same pageant, and I would forever be confused if her loyalty and resiliency weren’t appreciated, considering that she’s always been worthy to wear a Binibining Pilipinas sash since the first time.

Parul’s exotic face and neat hairstyle would surely bring her forward closer to the crown, as she tried her best to last year. Bianca and Laura are numbered among the most confident speakers onstage, so I’m sure they will blow the judges away with their wit and words. Pia is hoped to redeem herself from her first runner-up finish at the 2013 Binibining Pilipinas pageant, by romping away with the Miss Universe Philippines 2014 crown or any of the four others for that matter. After all, her last year’s performance in the Question and Answer portion was one for the books.

Of the 40 most exceptional Filipinas vying for one goal and five crowns tonight, may the best win.

Image

 

 

