Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

All of my predilections for the five candidates to win during the 2014 Binibining Pilipinas Coronation Night came to fruition when Mary Jean Lastimosa, Mary Anne Bianca Guidotti, Kris Tiffany Janson, Yvethe Marie Santiago, and Parul Shah (including first runner-up Laura Victoria Lehmann) were crowned as our country’s respective representatives to Miss Universe 2014, Miss International 2014, Miss Intercontinental 2014, Miss Supranational 2014, and Miss Tourism Queen International 2014. I dashed down my predictions in a post
approximately seven hours en route to the Smart Araneta Coliseum in Cubao, Quezon City, after I paid a visit to the Our Lady of Peace and Good Voyage Shrine in Antipolo, Rizal.

While initially I harbored a thought in a separate post that our very own Cebuana Kris Tiffany Janson would make a perfect Miss Universe Philippines, I couldn’t deny the fact that all of my first six bets dovetailed with each other in a bid to bag this most coveted crown of all time, so that whoever would be chosen at the end of the night, she was the answer to my may-the-best-win prayer. And she was the half-Arabian beauty named Mary Jean Lastimosa of North Cotabato. Anyone, either present at the venue or watching the pageant from home, couldn’t agree more that Mary Jean was the night’s finest in that she exuded most grace and elegance, not to mention such confidence as a result of her second runner-up placement in 2011, determination and resilience brought about by her nonplacement in 2012.

I loved Mary Anne Bianca Guidotti’s look and styling in the long gown competition, so the judges made up their collective minds correctly about her being the recipient of the Best in Long Gown award. I found it odd at first, and refreshing later on, that the judges chose someone fierce for Miss International 2014.

Miss Cebu 2009 Kris Tiffany Janson left many of us teary-eyed after she gave a poignant answer during the question-and-answer portion. She was asked: “If you could go back in time, what would you change? And why?”

She said: “I would go to my father and tell him how much I love him, because I know that it was something I took for granted. But tonight I don’t have to worry because I know that he has the best seat and is watching from above.”

I leapt in exultation when she was proclaimed as (the very first) Binibining Pilipinas Intercontinental 2014. For me, it’s not about who between Mary Anne Bianca Guidotti and Kris Tiffany Janson is heralded more for their respective national titles, but it’s about who has a bigger chance at the global crown. I won’t be there to be the harbinger, but I have a hunch that Kris Janson is bound to have a brighter future with her title, because there’s no Filipina ever been crowned as Miss Intercontinental, and I’m sure that the organizers of the said pageant are excited to welcome our country’s representative chosen from the most prestigious pageant here. Let’s face it: If it’s from Binibini, it must be good and ready.

I have to be honest. I think Yvethe Marie Santiago was the most stunning both at the Big Dome and in your boob tubes. I’ve seen her without makeup four years ago, when I did the makeup for Central Visayas’s representative to the Miss University – Philippines Search in Diliman, Quezon City, before she had hers done in preparation for the pageant. I said to myself that Bicol must’ve sent an angel to compete with our Sharon Grace Angel. And at last Sunday’s Binibining Pilipinas 2014, Yvethe was facially perfect. Plus, she wore the best makeup and hairstyle. So I can’t wait for her to duplicate Mutya Datul’s victory by winning the Miss Supranational 2014 crown.

I included Parul Shah in my list of favorites because I’ve always believed in her capacity to do our country proud at any global pageant, since she was a semifinalist last year. I’m jealous of her delicious Indian-Filipino features. And because she was the first one called to receive a title, I felt relieved that she was already wearing one of the five crowns, yet I was confident that the next four winners to be crowned would be precisely who I had predicted in the first place.

Click the following link to review: https://arielallera.wordpress.com/2014/03/30/the-2014-binibining-pilipinas-cream-of-the-crop/

Image

 

