Tags

, , , , ,

As I was cleaning my front yard early morning today, an ex-boyfriend stopped by on his motorbike and greeted, “Hi, Ariel! It’s nice to see you holding the broom.”

I returned his greeting with a smile and then asked, “What are you doing here in my place?”

He looked at me as though he saw a good-morning, heaven-sent answer to his last night’s dream. In the vernacular, he said, “Mamisita unta ko nimo.” For the sake of my international friends, he meant: “I’m here to visit you, if it’s O.K.”

At once he got me speechless, but then I managed to put him on the spot by asking, “Thanks. But are you here to court me again?”

“Yes, if you don’t mind,” he answered.

It would’ve sounded sweet had I heard those words right after he kept me waiting for nothing, about four years ago, when I still went gaga over him and needed him more than anything. But today, I made no bones about my response: “Sorry, not a chance.”

“O.K. I’m sorry that I disturbed your morning. But why not?” he asked.

To which I answered, “Too long a story to tell at this time of the day. The last three posts on my Facebook Timeline would tell you why—that is, if you have enough patience reading my lengthy love stories.”

Little did I know that there were several kibitzers eavesdropping our conversation outside my gate. And they couldn’t help laughing out loud after they heard me rejecting my ex. I confronted them and asked if they heard us the whole time. They said, “Yes. And we enjoyed it because we felt like watching a telenovela.”

Image

By Ariel Allosada Allera; Beauty Spotted by Ariel Allera; Malabuyoc, Cebu, Philippines 

