Since our queen, Pia Alonzo Wurtzbach, is currently in the thick of her homecoming to the Philippines, I find it totally relevant to share the last few remnants of my Miss Universe 2015 thoughts. That’s as if I can get enough of my Miss Universe mania!? 

To be honest, when Olivia Jordan was crowned as Miss USA 2015 in July, four months after Pia Wurtzbach won the Miss Universe Philippines 2015 sash in her third attempt at the Binibining Pilipinas pageant, I feared, “This girl is perfect Miss Universe material, period.”

Olivia Jordan looked divine in her hot pink couture gown. Her hairstyle, to me, was nostalgic for 1950s, which I loved. She reminded me of Miss Universe 2009, Venezuela’s Stefania Fernandez who went to the Bahamas bringing her signature retro mien, and Miss Universe 2004 first runner-up, USA’s Shandi Finnessey, whom I personally consider as my first favorite blond beauty queen.

Olivia’s performance during the Q&A was flawless, to say the least—which was understandable and, for me, expected of every pageant contestant whose first language is English. She’s not a boring blond beauty, and she looked as though she was born and bred and bound to stand out from a sea of fellow blondes onstage come pageant night on Dec. 20, 2015.

I held on to that, and because our country’s delegate, Pia Wurtzbach, was also a force to reckon with, I imagined them both as the last two standing beside the host announcing the first runner-up and the Miss Universe 2015 winner.

But as though luck preferred to sit on Pia’s lap, Olivia’s styling at the international pageant was a way far cry from her Miss Universe-prepped pulchritude during her national Miss USA 2015 competition—which I found ironic, because she looked as though she’d flown in to Nevada from Oklahoma to attend a bridal fashion show.    

I wonder: What if Olivia Jordan had walked on the Miss Universe 2015 stage at the AXIS in Las Vegas wearing the same gown, hairstyle, and makeup she’d worn when she won at the Miss USA 2015 pageant in Baton Rouge, Louisiana? What if, during the Final Question, she was visited by her superb confidence level at the national competition when she gave her answer to the question about an American woman to appear on the $10 bill in the year 2020? What if. . . . ?

image

image

image

image

image

#missuniverse2015 #missuniverse2016 #piawurtzbach #bbpilipinas2015 #oliviajordan #missusa2015 #confidentlybeautiful #confidentlybeautifulwithaheart #pinkgown #couturegown #retrohairstyle #stefaniafernandez #missuniverse2009 #missvenezuela2009 #shandifinnessey #missusa2004 #missuniverse2004 #bridalfashionshow #interrobang

