Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

​I’m a firm believer of Word Power. 

So after every Q&A workshop which my mentee Jason Bruce Martin and I had prior to his departure for the national Gentlemen of the Philippines 2016 Finals in Manila, I would tell him: “I don’t ‘believe’ that you’re going to win. And I can’t say that you ‘may’ win, either. Why? It’s because I ‘know’ you ‘will’ win. ‘Knowing’ is higher than ‘believing’! So is ‘will’ than ‘may’.” 

If I were a traditionalist, I would say, “God, I pray that my friend Jason ‘may’ win at the Gentlemen of the Philippines 2016 pageant.” 

But because my faith in God is as sure as eggs, I would say, “God, I pray that my friend Jason ‘will’ win at the Gentlemen of the Philippines 2016 pageant.” 

See the difference? Why should we use the weaker modal verb ‘may’ when we know that it doesn’t cost us a penny to ask God for anything good? Using the stronger modal verb “will” is not really tantamount to dictating God, which is out of the question.  

Whenever we met for our Q&A session or for other vital parts of the preparation, all I saw right before my very eyes was perfect winner material. And I made sure to let him know that—not to make him feel complacent, but to add to his already augmented confidence. 

Congratulations, Jason Martin, for winning the Gentlemen of the Philippines 2016 – Worldwide title during last night’s pageant. Thank you for believing in every word that I said to you. To our Men&Muses head and AD Models Philippines Homme et Femme executive director, Dexter Alazas, thank you for the trust. 

With Jason Martin: Gentlemen of the Philippines 2016 – Worldwide 
Special Awards:
Mister Congeniality 2016 

Best Advocacy Speaker 2016

Mister HeA Watch 2016 

Mister Online Travel Express 2016 

